Marie Skłodowska-Curie European Postdoctoral Fellowships

The flag of the European Union. It consists of twelve yellow stars on blue background.

Funded by

In brief

Postdoctoral researchers of any nationality can enhance their qualifications and diversify their competences by conducting a research project at a host institution (universities, research institutions, companies or international organisations) in Germany (or another EU member state or associated country).

Who can apply?

Researchers who

  • completed their PhD
  • have a maximum of 8 years full-time equivalent experience in research at the call deadline 
  • have not resided or carried out their main activity in the country of the host institution for more than 12 months in the 3 years immediately prior to the call deadline (MSCA mobility rule)

Type and extent of funding

Employment contract (usually full-time) with a monthly salary consisting of living and mobility allowances and, if
applicable, a family allowance. Host institutions receive funds for research, training, networking, management and indirect costs.


12 to 24 months. If justified in the proposal, an additional period of up to 6 months can be awarded to researchers who will spend that period in a non-academic organisation established in an EU member state or associated country.


Applications must be submitted online by the host institution and the researcher through the EU Funding & Tenders Portal. Marie Skłodowska-Curie European Postdoctoral Fellowships are advertised once a year. For more information see links below.

EU Funding & Tenders Portal

Find all funding programmes and tenders managed by different EU bodies here.

The flag of the European Union. It consists of twelve yellow stars on blue background.